Knife Laws In Las Vegas

knife-laws-in-las-vegas

Knife Laws In Las Vegas

Unapologetically, when the knife is in your pocket, it makes you confident and safer. Especially when you are a tourist and roaming around in strangers’ streets and having food at unsafe eateries. Streets of Las Vegas urge you to keep survival knives that are permissible under the knife legislation in Las Vegas. Nevertheless, it is pertinent to know the legal status of different knives before possessing them.

Below is information regarding the legality of carrying a knife in Las Vegas, Nevada.

As per the knife legislation in Las Vegas

“It is unlawful, within the unincorporated area of Clark County, for any person to carry upon his person a concealed weapon, not permitted under state law, of any description, including a knife with a blade of three inches or more, capable of being concealed, without first having received written permission therefor from the sheriff.”

The knife Rules in Las Vegas, Nevada

According to the law,

“The state of Nevada does allow individuals to carry knives in public.”

The exception to the rule:

“To conceal carry certain types of knives, the person must obtain a permit; Clark County mandates the person obtain the sheriff’s permission to conceal carry a knife when it has a blade that is three inches or longer; It is against the law to have a knife at a school or a child care facility, and it is against the law to brandish knives in front of two or more people.”

Nevada does not have a statewide law-keeping out knives, local governments can make their laws and ordinances, stricter, laws. Clark County, for example, has the prohibition carrying a knife with a blade longer than three inches.

Penalties for Violations

Usually, there are no particular penalties charged for the violation of a particular knife crime in Las Vegas. However, the law explains a bit to clear the confusion:

For first offenders, carrying a concealed knife without a permit results in a gross misdemeanor with penalties of up to a year in jail and/or up-to $2,000 in fines. A subsequent offense makes the charge a category D felony, which carries between one and four years in state prison and up to $5,000 in fines. Likewise, possessing a knife in school for first offenders results in the same penalties. Brandishing a knife, however, results in a misdemeanor charge with up to six months in jail and/or up-to $1,000 in fines for a first offense. Carrying a concealed knife within Clark County limits is also considered a misdemeanor, with similar penalties if convicted of up to six months in jail and/or up-to $1,000 in fines.”

Common Defenses to Las Vegas charges

Typical defenses to Las Vegas, Nevada knife crimes, depending on specific charges, include:

  • The knife blade was less than the allowable length of three inches
  • The weapon was not concealed
  • The knife was brandished under state self-defense laws

The weapon was not prohibited to be on school property

The law further explains:

“As long as the District Attorney does not have enough evidence to prove guilt beyond a reasonable doubt–the burden of proof placed on the state in criminal cases, then the charges should be dropped. Nevada knife laws require people to have a CCW permit to carry concealed machetes or other dangerous or deadly weapons.”

The definition of a “dangerous Weapon” in Las Vegas

NRS 202.350 does not explain which types of knives other than machetes qualify as “dangerous or deadly.” However, NRS 202.265 and NRS 202.320 indicate that dangerous and deadly weapons may include:

  • dirks,
  • dirk-knives,
  • swords,
  • sword canes,
  • daggers, and
  • switchblades

When the knife is considered “concealed”

According to the law,

“A knife is considered concealed if it is carried in a way meant to go unnoticed. “

Examples include carrying a knife:

On a belt buckle

How do I get a CCW permit for knives in Las Vegas?

People who are enthused to carry any concealed knife are invigorated to contact an attorney to help determine whether a CCW permit is necessary for their type of knife. The person can also contact the local sheriff‘s office for guidance. It is better to seek guidance than to commit a crime in ignorance.

Knife laws in Las Vegas for open carry

Nevada has no state-wide laws prohibiting the open carry of knives in Nevada. In Las Vegas, it is illegal to carry certain knives on

  • School property
  • Child care facilities

Knife-free places in Las Vegas

It is not permissible in Las Vegas to open or concealed possession of dirks, daggers, or switchblades in particular locations. For instance,

  • Private or public schools
  • Public transport
  • School/college buses
  • Public universities such as UNLV

Licensed child care facilities (or vehicles belonging to them)

The exception to the rule:

  • Security guards
  • Law enforcement officers
  • Peace officers
  • People are granted written permission to carry the weapon on the premises
  • People who run child care facilities in their own homes may have their knives on the premises; however, it is their responsibility to be cautious.

If at-home child facility providers show irresponsibility in keeping the children away from knives or else they could face charges of reckless endangerment (NRS 202.595) or worse.5

Knife brandishing in Las Vegas

According to the law,

“It is illegal to draw or brandish deadly knives in a rude, angry, or threatening manner in the presence of two (2) or more people.”

Deadly knives include:

  • Dirks
  • Dirk-knives
  • Swords
  • Sword canes

Illegal knives in Las Vegas

No knives are illegal to possess in Las Vegas. State law used to have restrictions on switchblades, but that statute was recently repealed. Other names of switchblade knives are automatic knives, the spring-blade knife, and the snap-blade knife.

Legal knives in Las Vegas

When Trefoils are illegal to possess

The law does prohibit people from possessing trefoils in the following circumstances:

  • On school/college/university property
  • Child care facility
  • School/college/university buses
  • Any place with the intent to inflict harm upon another person

Trefoils are like knives, and throwing them can be dangerous.

Legal consequences of breaching the law

The punishment for wrongfully carrying or brandishing a knife depends on the specific offense:

Carrying a concealed knife without a CCW permit:

  • Up to 364 days in jail
  • Up to $2,000 in fines

A subsequent offense is a category D felony:

  • 1 – 4 years in Nevada State Prison, and
  • up to $5,000 in fines (at the judge’s discretion)

Carrying a concealed knife in Las Vegas, Clark County

Misdemeanor:

  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines10

Possessing or using a trefoil with intent to cause harm

A first offense is a gross misdemeanor:

  • Up to 364 days in jail
  • Up to $2,000 in fines

A subsequent offense is a category D felony

  • 1 – 4 years in prison
  • up to $5,000 in fines (at the judge’s discretion)

Possessing a knife at school

Gross misdemeanor:

  • Up to 364 days in jail
  • Up to $2,000 in fines12

Brandishing

Misdemeanor:

  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines13

When the weapon is not illegal at schools in Las Vegas

The law explicitly prohibits only dirks, daggers, or switchblades from school, public university, or child care property.

As per the law,

“If the defense attorney can show that the knife in question does not fall under the definition of dirk, dagger, or switchblade, the NRS 202.265 charges should be dismissed. Testimony from a weapons expert would be helpful evidence.”

When the defendant brandished the weapon in self-defense

According to the law,

“The law permits people to brandish knives in a rude, angry, or threatening manner as long as it is done in self-defense.”

Final Thoughts

Wrapping up the discussion, generally, it is legal to have a knife in Las Vegas, Nevada. Nevertheless, there are exceptions to this rule that if desecrated could result in severe penalties. It is suggested to look up the local laws before you start walking around with a blade. If you have been hurt in Las Vegas, Henderson, or anywhere else in Nevada due to the fault of another, you should contact an attorney to get you out of the trouble. And also be sure to keep others safe and sound and have no concerns with your blade.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest

Leave a comment

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.