Knife Laws in Arkansas
Arkansas is among the US states where knife laws are purely intent-based. Moreover, the state’s law is based on the possessor’s intention of carrying a knife. And the motive makes the knife lawful or unlawful. The state’s law declares anyone eligible to own or carry a knife for his/her safety and must be 18 years or older. People of Arkansas are enthused to keep survival knives and are permissible by law to own them.
When a legally announced weapon becomes illegal
If you have crossed the threshold of the permissible age (18years) then you have the liberty to keep, carry and use any knife except in the particular venues. Nevertheless, if a person over 18 has a bad intention of carrying a knife. And, people’s safety is at stake with his handling and can cause violence, then the legal weapon becomes illegal. The law then penalized the culprit and may subject them to imprisonment.
Since 2013, strict rules are converted into fairly lenient laws and legislation. A new approach is started in 2007 with the repeal of Arkansas Code 5-73-121, as per Act 83 of 2007.
According to the new slant,
“Using the 3.5” upper limit of Knives was eliminated, and allows propitious handling of knives. You can carry and use different types of knives and blades, subject to a few legal restrictions. If you are a citizen of Arkansas, it is suggested to abide by legislative rules to avoid penalties.”
State Knife Law of Arkansas
The constitution of Arkansas (AR) openly declares the notion of unassailable and inherent rights of bearing arms and rescue knives for self-protection. However, the Federal Law allows its citizens to use them only for their safety.
Carrying Knife Law
According to Art.2, Section 2,
“All citizen in Arkansas has the right to carry and bear arms and knives for their defense but you have to look at the length before using or carrying it.”
Further explanation of “carrying knives”
Carrying knives have two interpretations.
- Firstly, the knife can be a bladed instrument that is capable of inflicting major injury or death by stabbing or thrashing.
- Secondly, the knife is a sharp instrument that is an essential kitchen tool used for cutting vegetables, chopping fruits, or dicing meat while camping and traveling. The second meaning of carrying knives refers to the multiple spectacular uses a knife can perform.
Repeal and Penalty of the Arkansas Carrying Knife Law
According to Civil Code 5-73-121,
“If a person carries a knife without permission in a vehicle and other restricted places, then he or she shall be punished under Section 5-73-123 (b) and will be imprisoned for six months.”
Violation of Prima Facie Proof
“If the knife consists of sharp bade longer than 3.5”, then this is a violation of ‘Prima Facie Proof’ and it can make you convicted and will be believed that the knife is carried as a weapon.”
Concealment Knife Law
According to Arkansas Knife Law,
“The state has no specific concealment legislation. You carry small knives or blades by hiding but minors under 18 years old cannot carry any concealed knife or a pocket knife.”
Sale or Transfer of Knife Law
The state’s law does not forbid anyone from the sale or transfer of a knife except to the age limit. You can not sell or transit any knife to a minor if does can cause serious trouble. So, if you have second thoughts regarding a person involved in your sale contract, always go for their identity to know his/her age.
According to Section 5-73-109,
“You cannot sell a deadly weapon to a minor under 18 years old.”
Blade Length Rules of Arkansas
According to Section 5-73-120 (1) (4),
“You cannot carry such a knife which is more than the length of 3.5”. Breaching the legislation is an offense, violating rules cause to charge $500 penalty.”
If you belong to the stated down a category, you are permissible to hold blades and knives, nevertheless, only during duty hours. It is pertinent to keep your ID proof and license for carrying the tools. The permissible category involves,
Types of Legal Knives in Arkansas
The knife laws of Arkansas strictly levy on both, new migrants and existing citizens, you can carry, sell and buy knives concerning some legislations. Though, you are restricting to access a few permissible ones. for instance,
It is a butterfly-shaped broad flipping and fanning knife which can be used for self-defense. The balisong knife can be used in traveling and butchers also use this knife for cutting meat.
• Automatic Knife
A switchblade or automatic knife is a swift tool and can also be used for cutting fruits and ropes or for self-defense.
• Gravity Knife
It is somewhat resembling a switchblade knife. It has a big handle and a small sharp blade and has a push-button to open it.
It is an extremely sharp thrusting dagger that is used by armed forces. Minors are strictly prohibited to use Dinks because it is dangerously sharp. It can also be used by other citizens in Arkansas.
The Switchblade Act is flexible in Arkansas, so the citizens of Arkansas can use stilettos for their self-defense. Nevertheless, you need the permission of the Armament Officer.
• Straight Razor
They are usually used by professional barbers. But you can also keep it for shaving beards or heads.
It is important to observe that you cannot carry Bowie Knives in Arkansas because it has a length of more than 3.5″. You cannot use any knife whose length is more than 3-3.5″ as per Arkansas Knife Law. Breaching the law will cause to bear serious consequences.
Knives that are Explicitly Illegal in Arkansas
The law states,
“A knife is a bladed hand instrument that can be used for stabbing or cutting, causing severe physical harm or death. If the person does not intend to use the knife for unlawful purposes, there are no legal bindings on the person carrying the knife.”
Thus, the state of Arkansas does not confine or outlaw any type of knife. It is only illegal to carry a knife if the motive to use it is to stab someone or cause physical injury.
Penalty for Carrying Illegal Knife in Arkansas
According to the Arkansas law,
“If you carry Bowie Knives or larger knives of more than 3.5”, then you have to compensate $500 or can also be imprisoned for six months.”
So, it is always sensible to respect laws. And Arkansas exhibits flexible and simple laws of carrying, using, and selling knives.
Restricted Places to Carry Knives in Arkansas
Knife and blades are always confined to particular venues, and the law is strict in this manner.
As per the Carrying Law of Arkansas of 5-73-120,
“Carrying a handgun and sharp knives in the club, schools, vehicles, and hospitals is an offense and you have to pay a penalty for doing that offense.”
If you misuse them in public places, you will bear consequences. There are some places where you should not carry any knife and other sharp or deadly weapons such as:
According to Section 5-73-122 of Arkansas Knife Law,
“Using or carrying knives or other weapons in a school or other educational institute is a crime. If you are carrying knives for cutting fruits or for some other purposes, then you have to take permission from the owner of the educational center or the authority of the place. It is a matter for the safety of the students and teachers, so neither a student nor any teacher is allowed to carry knives or blades on school premises.”
• Government Building
The government places are banned places where carrying and using knives or blades are not allowed.
- post offices
- judiciary boards,
If this legislation is violated, then you have to penalize as per Section 14-54-1411.
According to Arkansas Knife Law,
“You should not carry knives and blades in clubs, streets, and other public places because it may harm others.”
• Federal Properties
According to the Federal Switchblade Law,
“You cannot carry knives and blades in the federal properties such as airports and courts.”
• Public Vehicles
When you are traveling in a public vehicle like a bus, shuttle, and metro, you should avoid reckless knife displays. you cannot carry any weapons and knives because any deadly weapon can create chaos and harm people.
• Others Personal Property
Whether you are above 18 you can not enter any private property with your knives
without the consent of the person. The law restricts you from carrying any weapons and knives on someone’s personal property.
The state makes laws and rules to monitor public activities and to overwhelm crime spike. Rules are designed and enforced to keep the dwellers safe and secure. So, it is mandatory to follow the legal framework of the state. As far as Arkansas is concerned, the laws are not rigid and hard to follow, rather are simple and quite relaxed.
You have the complete independence to keep and use knives but sticking to the grounds of law and legislation is mandatory.